Frequently asked questions

Who can apply for coverage?

Oregon residents who live in our selling area, are under age 65 and not eligible for Medicare.

Back to Top

Can my employer pay my premium?

In compliance with Oregon state law, Providence Health Plan does not accept premiums from employers for individual health coverage.

Back to Top

Do I have coverage while I am at work?

Our plans provide coverage 24 hours a day, seven days a week. You will be covered while you are working, unless you are required to have coverage through Workers' Compensation Act or similar law.

Back to Top

What about preexisting conditions?

All plans are guaranteed issue under the Affordable Care Act, meaning that insurance companies no longer can deny coverage for people with preexisting conditions for plans effective January 1, 2014.

Back to Top

Will my premium change?

Premiums are subject to an annual rate change. Your premium may change as you move to a new age category.

Back to Top

Will I be charged more if I use a producer?

No, your monthly premium is the same, whether or not you use a producer. The producers we appoint to represent Providence Health Plan have thorough knowledge of the coverage we offer.

Back to Top

How do I pay for my coverage?

We will invoice you for your first month's premium once your application is approved and you accept our offer of coverage. Your premium is billed monthly and can be paid online at www.providence.org/billpay or by mail.

Back to Top

Do I need to purchase pediatric dental coverage?

Under the new health care reform law (the Affordable Care Act or ACA), pediatric dental coverage is required as an essential health benefit. Since Providence Health Plan does not include pediatric dental coverage, you will be required to purchase that coverage separately. This applies whether you obtain coverage for children or adults. An exception is made for Providence plans purchased through the public health insurance marketplace, Cover Oregon, as these plans do not require pediatric dental coverage.

Back to Top

How will the government know who has and has not signed up for pediatric dental coverage?

The requirement to purchase pediatric dental coverage was enacted as part of federal health care reform. Since the requirement is new, there is no historical auditing information to rely upon in answering this question. Both the state and federal government have the authority to conduct audits on this subject and could do so at any time.

Back to Top

When does my coverage begin?

Coverage will begin either the first or 15th of the month following application approval. You can request a later date to begin coverage, up to 70 days from the date you submit your application. The coverage effective date needs to be within the 70 days.

Back to Top

How does Providence Health Plan protect my privacy?

We respect the privacy of our members and applicants, and have policies regarding your protected health information:

  • Once enrolled for coverage, your agreement enables us to share your health information to administer your plan benefits and pay medical claims.
  • We also may share information with your doctors or hospitals to provide medical care to you.

Please refer to our Notice of Privacy Practices for uses and disclosures of protected health information, including those required by law.

Back to Top