What is Medicare?

Medicare is an insurance program offered through the federal government that covers medical services and hospital care for people 65 or older, younger people with certain disabilities and people with End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD). Medicare is made up of Part A, Part B, Part C and Part D. Sometimes referred to as Original Medicare, Part A and Part B are provided by the federal government. Part C and Part D are provided by private health insurance companies but still follow federally mandated Medicare guidelines.

Medicare Part A: Hospital coverage

Also known as hospital insurance, Medicare Part A covers inpatient services including hospital care, skilled nursing facility care, nursing home care, hospice and home health services. Read more ›

Medicare Part B: Outpatient/physician services coverage

Also known as outpatient medical insurance, Part B covers medically necessary and preventive services such as lab tests, surgeries and doctor visits, and supplies such as wheelchairs and walkers (considered medically necessary to treat a disease or condition). Read more ›

Medicare Part C: Medicare Advantage Plans

Also known as Medicare Advantage Plans, Part C is an alternative to Part A and Part B and is provided by private health insurance companies (like Providence) who are approved by Medicare. Part C covers all the benefits you receive with Part A and Part B and may offer additional benefits such as dental care, gym memberships, vision care and prescription coverage (Part D). Read more ›

Medicare Part D: Prescription drug coverage

Also known as Medicare Prescription Drug insurance, Part D is offered by private health insurance companies such as Providence. If you have Part A and Part B, or if you have a Part C Medicare Advantage Plan, you may choose to purchase a separate Part D prescription plan from a private health insurance provider. Read more ›

Medigap: Medicare supplemental insurance

Also known as Medicare supplemental insurance, Medigap is another option for filling in coverage gaps in Original Medicare (Part A and Part B). Read more ›

Information taken from cms.gov.